• 4:25 pm Another International Event Looms – 8th Eastern Asian Youth Chess Championship 2024
  • 12:13 am Malaysian Chess Championship 2024 – Here We Go!
  • 1:20 pm National Youth Chess Championship 2024 – 25th to 27th May 2024 (UTP, Seri Iskandar, Perak)
  • 3:15 pm Malaysian Chess Championship 2024 – Updates

It was the first time event that an an Online event is being organized for the Differently Abled Community and albeit the low number of participants, it received an encouraging numbers of entries considering that this is only the event inaugural edition. At the end of the championship, it was an amazing feat as both Loo Pin Xie and Siti Safura Jaapar scored perfect 7 points out of 7 games to clinch the Champions title for their respective category in the LIONS INTERNATIONAL CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP 2021 for the Differently Abled Community.

In the Open category, Loo Pin Xie excelled against 23 other players to score 7 points out of 7 games, securing the title as early as in the 6th round with an unassailable lead over his nearest rivals. Although tied with 5 points each, Muhammad Ikmal Faiz bin Ab Rahman was declared the runner up with a better tie break followed by Wong Yi Heng in 3rd position and Ahmad Nazmi Bin Md Nizam at 4th place.

Rounding up the prize winners were Max Ng Tze Khai and Amirul Shahmie bin Shahrulizam with 4.5 points each to secure 5th and 6th placing, and 6 other players with 4 points securing 7th to 12th placing. With only 8 players playing in the Ladies category, the balance 2 prizes allocated for the ladies were re assigned to the Open category. The 6 players rounding up the 12 prize slots were Hanson Ang Ping Ting, Mohamad Ruzaini Mohd Rosli Putra, Amirul Iman Amiruddin, Tan Yin Kuang, Hadisyam Ahmad dan Mohd Azanni Ahmad.

For the Ladies section, with only 8 players participating, the event format was changed to Round Robin. With Siti Safura Jaapar declared the winner with 7 points out of 7 games, 2nd place went to Johorean Lim Yee Jin with 6 points, and Thoo Siaw Lan of Sarawak with 5 points to round up the podium finishers. In 4th place was another Sarawakian Cindy Yeo Siaw Hui with 4 points, followed by Aqilah Syahira Ahmad with 3 points in 5th place and from 6th to 8th placing were Seri Izdihar Mohd Shoberi, Sanjeevani A/P Elangkovan and Andrea Kamil – all with single point each.

Full results for the event can be found at http://chess-results.com/tnr583634.aspx?lan=1 for the Open category and http://chess-results.com/tnr583632.aspx?lan=1&art=1 for the Ladies category.

The Malaysian Chess Federation CONGRATULATE ALL WINNERS and PARTICIPANTS of the event for their support, participation and performance in making the inaugral event a success.

The Federation would also like to take the opportunity to thank the Penang Lions Clubs – Lions Club Penang Armenian, Lions Club Georgetown Island. Lions Club Tanjung Sri Pinang, Lions Club Simpang Ampat, Lions Club Tanjung Putri and Lions Club Komtar for their sponsorships and kind contributions.

Additional thanks are also extended to the KIWANIS Penang Central for their support, and the Penang Chess Association especially to PCA President Madam See Swee Sie for her dedication and effort in realizing the event. A word of thanks also to the President of the Sarawak Chess Association Mr Abang Mohd Reduan Abang Sahari who acted as the Tournament Director, and IA Lim Poay Sim from Penang who presided as the Chief Arbiter. Finally, a word of thanks to the Director of the Majlis Sukan Negeri Pulau Pinang – Tuan Harry Chai, for their endorsement of the event which coincide with the Hari Sukan Negara.

MCF Secretariat