• 4:52 pm Malaysia wins 4 gold and 3 silver in the 8th Eastern Asian Youth Rapid Championship
  • 1:12 pm Eastern Asian Youth Chess Championship kicks off in George Town, Pulau Pinang
  • 8:07 pm Olympiad Team Dominates 2024 PMX National Classical Team Open Chess Championship!
  • 11:09 pm Salam Maal Hijrah
  • 3:13 pm MCF Rating Updated for May and June – UPDATED

National Junior Nurul Akma Quzaina – a wild card entry nominated by MCF for the Finals, completed her haul in her second Knock Out Series by overcoming a strong resistance from Claire Foo Jing Er who took her all the way to the Armageddon round. Needing only a draw in the tie breaker game, Akma managed to win the back and forth encounter which saw both players pressing hard to secure the win. Earlier in her semi final game, Akma was also engaged in an Armageddon tie break rounds against Aqilah Husna Ainul Fikri who managed to hold her own to stretch the eventual champion to the limit. On the other hand, Claire Foo was convincing in her win against Mirza Irdina Muzzamil in the semi final which saw her sealing her spot in the final with a 2-0 win, but found it tough to beat Akma in their final encounter.

In the U12 category, another wild card entry from MCF also sealed the Championship in the form of Kavin Mohan who won convincingly against Lin Jie Xun in the final match. On his way to the Championship final, Kavin defeated Lee Yun Rui by a score of 2-0 whilst his opponent in the final, defeated Labuan’s wild card entry Jason Warren Likoh. The U12 Knockout Championship stage was held on Saturday, 3rd September 2021 whilst the Ladies bracket was completed the next day on Sunday, 4th September 2021.

The Malaysian Chess Federation congratulates the Champions and all those who have taken part in the FT Series from the start, including parents, coaches, fans and the chess community in making it a huge success.

The FT Online Chess Festival Knockout Championship stage will continue next week on Sunday, 12th September 2021 with the Open category and first prize fund of RM 1,500. Some of the more interesting players taking part are FM Wong Yinn Long, CM Tan Jun Ying, Muhammad Syakir Syazmeer Azhar, Evan Timothy Capel and FM Rohan Shan Tze Navaratnam and Anderson Ang Ern Jie – both of whom were nominated by MCF.

MCF Secretariat