• 4:25 pm Penang A Crowned As National Inter-State Chess Champion 2022
  • 5:51 pm CONGRATULATIONS FM (soon to be IM) Rohan Shan Tze Navaratnam
  • 10:41 pm New NA (National Arbiter) Title Awarded
  • 1:32 am The National States Chess Championship 2022 – Sabah (21st Nov to 24th Nov 2022)
  • 6:14 pm 6th Eastern Asia Youth Chess Championship 2022 – Players Confirmed

As of the closing date yesterday, 31 teams from 8 States including 2 Paralympic teams have confirmed their participation for the 1st National Inter State Online Chess Championship 2020.

While the organizers are still sorting out the Swiss Manager file and making sure that all the players have chess.com IDs. the States breakdown are as follows:

  1. Penang 12 Teams
  2. Selangor 4 Teams
  3. K Lumpur 4 Teams
  4. Melaka 4 Teams (Including 1 Para Team)
  5. Johor 3 Teams
  6. Sarawak 2 Teams
  7. N S 1 Team
  8. Perak 1 Team (Para Team)

KL Warriors Team is seeded 1st with FM Chan Kim Yew, FM Rohan Navaratnam, FM Lye Lik Zhang and FM Wong Jianwen making up the team. Penang B with Ng Tze Han, Capel Evan Timothy, Lim Wei Sheng and Tin Shan Wen seeded 2nd, followed by 3rd seed Penang A with Looi Xin Hao, FM Wong Yinn Long, Poh Yu Tian and IM Ooi Zhi Yang making up the team.

Some of the more prominent players are veterans Ahmad Muzzaffar of Negeri Sembilan and Lim Kian Hwa of Sarawak, MCF Vice President Abang Mohd Reduan Abang Sahari also of Sarawak and long time veteran Fun Meng Hock of Johor.

The final listing of all players will be published and uploaded tomorrow on chess-results.com website for all the participants to check their entries. The event will take place online via chess.com platform starting from 9:00am on Saturday, 25th July 2020. The 7 rounds tournament with a time control of 10 minutes + 2 seconds increment per move is expected to complete around 4:30pm on the same day.

MCF Secretariat