• 10:31 am Events Submitted for MCF Rating – and future MCF Rated events
  • 3:39 pm Malaysia to Organize Commonwealth Chess Championship 2023-24 from 19th to 28th February in Melaka
  • 10:25 pm Malaysians Youth To Participate At The 25th Asian Youth Chess Championship in Al-Ain, UAE
  • 1:03 am Eastern Asian Juniors and Girls Chess Championship 2023 Officially Kicked Off in Sabah
  • 12:42 pm ASIAN Online Chess Championship for Players with Disabilities

With Penang B securing a one-two finish for the Island State

The Penang A Team was crowned as the 2022 Champion at the recently concluded National Inter-State Chess Championship held in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah from the 22nd to the 24th of November 2022. Penang A – comprise of Looi Xin Hao, Tin Shan Wen, Eshwant Singh, and Yeoh Yuan Hui breezed through the event winning all their encounters to record an impressive and perfect 12 match points with 20.5 game points out of a possible 24 points.

Penang also secured the 2nd spot with its B Team, having scored 8 match points with 15.5 game points to beat home team Sabah B by a single game point at 14.5 game points – having earned the same match point. Penang B was represented by Koay Yu Hang, Ferris Lim Feng Wei, Lai Hong Jun, and Lim Wei Yang with Sabah B Team members were Abdul Sahim Wising, Kamino Marino, Rizuan Shah Alihakatdin, Richard Conrod Kimbin, and Charles Lucas in the reserve spot.

As there were only 10 teams participating – 7 Men’s Teams and 3 Women’s Teams, both the Men and Women were combined into a single event pool.

For the Women’s category, Sabah A Team comprising Mazira Wahab, Ainnur Asyikin Jupineh, Jennica Fay Jossly, Nov Genevia Pslam Yaakub, and Evelyn Leong in the reserved seat, secured the top spot with 5 match points and 8.5 game points. Sarawak Women’s Team led by Aida Suriana Abdul Razak, Teh Yi Lynn, Faith Soon Jun En, and Kueh Rui Han secured the second spot with 4 match points and 9 game points. Sabah B Team rounded up the final podium spot with Nur Izz Zayani Zulhimat, Nor Aressa Zara Irdina Muammar, Rawaidah Adnan, Adriana Mia Ab Halim, and Nor Aryana Intan Natasya Muammar in the reserves seat.

Each of the Men’s and Women’s event champions secured first prize spoils of RM3,000 plus medals and a challenge trophy with RM2,000 going to the second-placed team and RM1,000 to the 3rd finishing teams.

Organized by the Sabah Chess Association, the FIDE Rated event is sanctioned by the Malaysian Chess Federation with IA Genkeswaran Muniandy acting as the Chief Arbiter and FA Emran Mohd Tamil as its Deputy Arbiter.

MCF Secretariat